This week I’ve decided to not complain at all. It’s something I’ve been trying to do for a while now, but usually go to work and then give up right away because I don’t feel like putting in the effort anymore after I enter the depressing place. That’s really sad, I think, that complaining makes me feel better about my situation, as it does for most people. What really made me determined to do this though was probably a more innocent conversation with a new friend I made this week.

We were speaking of energy, because of my Reiki practice. He brought up the fact that since I am a vessel for the healing energies the higher I vibrate the better healer I will be because these energies will flow through me more. I had thought of this before, but it never actually hit me of what that could mean. I could only be using half my power right now for all I know!

I am very aware that I have negative energies being emitted from me. I find it very hard to stop falling into the traps of negativity because there is so much of it at my home and my job which is where I spend most of my time. Its probably one of the reasons why sometimes I just need to get out of here, and leave it all behind. It’s one of the reasons I want to change my life so much.

Well, here’s my experiment:

If I stop complaining for the next month, then I will be happier because I will view my life and my job as “better”. Also, I will be a more powerful healer.

Now, what has always confused me with this task is what is a complaint by definition? I personally think it depends on the intent of what you say because sometimes people state things that are perceived as a complaint when it really is a fact of truth to them.

So here is how I will define a complaint for the purposes of my goal:

A complaint is a statement made with the intention of expressing pain, dissatisfaction, or resentment.

Furthermore, because I once read that when you take away a habit, especially when it has to deal with the way you think, you can’t just stop something. There has to be something to replace whatever empty spot you’ve created. I’m not sure if this also goes with complaints, but I’m going to swap the complaints with positive statements about whatever I was going to complain about.

And I am excited!

Hope you join me and let me know how it goes for you!

-Christine

