Day One:

I had no idea that I complained so much! It surprised me! Even a sigh could be interpreted as a complaint dependant on the intention of the sigh. I mean, if you’re sighing to get more air to breathe, then good for you! But if you’re sighing because you want to leave, or be somewhere else you have now made a complaint a sigh.

As I went through the day I got better and better at recognizing the complaints, which I would say are the first part of the process of stopping them. I also saw how complaining is just the normal everyday thing for myself and my coworkers, which really does make a terrible work environment.

One of my Drivers, D, is going to take part in the experiment as well. He started tonight.

We realized also that your intention can completely change the way that you speak. I read it now, and I know it seems so obvious, however, I didn’t actually realize it. I was trying to create a statement, and since I didn’t know how it would come out, I stated my intent before I said it. I was surprised how naturally my words changed according to that stated attempt.

Conclusion: This is just another way of proving that intent is a powerful tool. This is much harder than I thought it would be.

Challenge: I am going to ask the rest of the staff to join this, preferably 24/7 because I believe thats the only way you will experience any major effects of the experiment.

Day Two:

I’m getting better! It is much easier to recognize a complaint now, and to see the intention I had. As far as I know my boss will not join us, and I am unsure of my other coworker. They are excited to see how this turns out, because next week at work we have a bunch of people from head office coming down to take control of our store. It’s only a week, but the rumors are that the guy who will be taking our store over is a crotchety and grumpy old man.

We’ll see how this goes.

Day Three:

I have realized that I should be paying attention to my thoughts as well. Normally I just let them ramble on and on, but I realized as I was driving home today that I should be changing my thought’s as well. This no complaint thing is a total rewiring of my thought process.

Day Four:

Today, I was happy. I would do my job happily, without the intention of complaining. It was good. I found myself almost automatically restating anything that was going to be a complaint in my head before it came out. Only got caught once or twice complaining!

The rest of the staff at my store won’t join in.

Day Five:

This morning, I forgot, and wasn’t watching myself as much, and in the lapse I complained ALOT. Thankfully, people helped me to remember I am not complaining!

By the way, I found out today that the man coming to take over our store next week isn’t who we thought. We are actually getting a nice guy! So next week is looking up!

Day Six:

So, I completely vented and complained about everything in my life today. And I felt good afterwards. I am still going to continue my no complaining month, however, this has led me to believe that it is a complete rewiring of your brain that you must be willing to do fully and completely. Some days I am more willing than other days.

I’ve also noticed that its an addiction. Just like smoking, its bad for you, but it feels good, so you keep doing it. And soon you’re hooked. So basically, if you stop complaining you are getting over your addiction. I find this very interesting.

P.S.

I will put up another post on Tuesday, for the people who aren’t so interested in my experiment results, so check back then!

